Sanitary Sewer Utility

A Little bit about the Sanitary Sewer Utility

The Sanitary Sewer Utility operates and maintains a regional wastewater treatment plant on Isle La Plume, 26 sanitary lift (pumping) stations, and 188 miles of sanitary sewers that make up the wastewater collection and treatment systems for the City of La Crosse. The Utility staff also operates and maintains seven lift stations and 134 miles of storm sewers as part of the Storm Water Utility.

Currently, the regional La Crosse treatment plant accepts and treats waste from not only the City but several adjacent entities, including the City of Onalaska, the Town of Campbell, Sanitary Districts 1 and 2 in the Town of  Shelby, and the City of La Crescent.


Waste Water Treatment Plant
905 Joseph Houska Dr
La Crosse, WI 54601


Important Links

Billing & Service Related

Water Related

Sewer Related

Stormwater Related


Contact Information

Water, Sanitary Sewer & Stormwater Utility billing and customer services are managed through the La Crosse Utilities Office. Utility payments are not processed in the Utilities Office, and should be taken to the City Treasurer's Office on the 2nd Floor. 

5th Floor
400 La Crosse St 
La Crosse, WI 54601 

Tel:  (608) 789-7536
Fax: (608) 789-7592


Hours:  8:30am - 5:00pm
Monday through Friday, excluding Holidays

Emergency Information

Utility Management Contacts