Home  |  Calendar  |  Directory  |  Site Map  |  City of La Crosse
The City of La Crosse Parks and Recreation
Thursday, July 24th - 10:24 AM
The City of La Crosse Parks and Recreation
The City of La Crosse Parks and Recreation

Go To Search
Email PagePrint PageRSS Feeds
Grandad Bluff Park
Address:
3020 Grandad Bluff Rd.
La Crosse, WI 54601
View Map

Phone:
(608) 789-7533

Email:
Email Us

Reservations:
Check availability and reserve online
20120418_2660m.jpg
View Photo Gallery
Description
Grandad Park opened in 1912. Grandad Bluff is the largest bluff in the La Crosse area and is well-known for its scenic overlook of La Crosse. In addition to enjoying the breath-taking view, you can explore several bluffside hiking trails. Since the top of Grandad Bluff can be seen from most points in the city, it's home to an annual New Year's Eve fireworks celebration.

Amenities
  • Parking
  • Open Area
  • Restrooms
  • Overlook Area
  • Shelter
  • Trails

Directions and Map 
 

View La Crosse Catholic pilgrimage map in a larger map

History
Grandad Park was started with the purchase of the land from the state by Judge George Gale (Galesville's namesake) in July 1851. Between 1851 and 1912, there were 83 property transfers. The last owner was Mrs. Ellis B. Usher, daughter of Henry Bliss, who had built the road to the top of Grandad (Bliss Road). Mrs. Usher transferred the deed to Joseph Hixon in 1909 until it could be transferred to the city. Quarrying began on the bluff in 1865. Grandad Bluff was purchased using private donations from Mrs. Frank Hixon ($12,000), plus $3,000 from other La Crosse residents. $2,000 was raised for road construction. The purpose of Grandad Bluff was for park purposes, with a clause providing a site for a water reservoir. For park visitors, a parking lot was constructed 300' from the point in 1931. Read more »







Accessibility  |  Copyright  |  Disclaimer  |  Privacy Policy  |  Powered by CivicPlus