Show/Hide

Beer and Liquor Licenses

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The sale of intoxicating liquor and fermented malt beverages is regulated by Wisconsin Statutes Chapter 125 and Chapter 4 of the La Crosse Municipal Code.

License Period

The license year runs from July 1 through June 30 of the following year.

License Fee

The fees are as follows and must be paid at the time of filing applications. Click on a license below to download its application.

License Type Description Fee
Combination "Class B" Beer & Liquor Combination "Class B" Beer & Liquor
Monthly
Publication
$600.00
$50.00
$20.00
Class "B" Beer
Monthly
6 months or less
Publication
$100.00
$8.33
$50.00
$20.00
"Class A" Liquor (Off Sale)
Monthly
Publication
$500.00
$41.67
$20.00
Class "A" Beer (Off Sale)
Monthly
Publication
$100.00
$8.33
$20.00
"Class C" Wine
Monthly
Publication
$100.00
$8.33
$20.00

How to Apply

  • Alcohol Beverage Retail License Application. Click on a license name in the above chart to download the respective application. Applications must be completed in full, legible and signed by applicant.
  • An Auxiliary Questionnaire (Form AT-103) must be completed and submitted with any alcohol beverage retail license application by:
    • each individual applicant, or
    • by each member of a partnership, or
    • by each officer, director and agent of a corporation or non-profit organization, or
    • by each member/manager and agent of a limited liability company.
  • All corporations/organizations or limited liability companies must appoint an agent. A Schedule for Appointment of Agent (Form AT-104) must be completed and submitted with the alcohol beverage retail license application.

Combination "Class B" Beer and Liquor License

Before application can be made for a Combination "Class B" Beer & Liquor License, the City Clerk must have either a completed Surrender of License or granted permission to apply from the Common Council. Note: Permission to apply is not necessary for any other class of beer & liquor license; however, a surrender is required when any existing beer and/or liquor license is being transferred to a new owner.

When seeking permission to apply, submit a letter to the City Clerk which shall be addressed to the Mayor and Common Council of the City of La Crosse. The letter must provide details of the proposed business and how the license will be used: ownership, address, type of business, number of employees, hours, other business to be conducted on premise, etc. The letter will then be submitted to the Common Council for consideration.

If seeking permission to apply for a Combination "Class B" Beer and Liquor License in the Central Business District aka Downtown Area (area lying between La Crosse Street, Cass Street, Mississippi River and 7th Street), a Conditional Use Permit shall be required. For more information , refer to Sec. 115-359 of the La Crosse Municipal Code.

Additional Information

State law requires that applications for beer and liquor licenses be received at least fifteen (15) days before it is submitted to the Common Council and that a notice of the application be published in the La Crosse Tribune. The Common Council meets the second Thursday of each month. The application is reviewed by the Judiciary and Administration Committee, which makes its recommendation to the Council.

State law also requires that the owner(s) (if individual or partnership) or agent (if corporation or LLC) complete the "Legal/Responsible Beverage Server Course", which is offered online at Department of Revenue.

Change in Premises Description

If you intend to change your premises description (sales, service or storage) in any way, i.e. expand premises, add beer garden, etc., you must submit a Request to Amend Premises Description. A request filed by 5:00 p.m. on the Monday following the second Thursday of the month will be submitted to and considered by the Common Council at their next regularly scheduled meeting. The request will also be considered by the Judiciary & Administration Committee and is subject to review by the Police Department, Fire Prevention & Building Safety Bureau and La Crosse County Health Department. A detailed plan must accompany the request along with a $100 fee (cash, check payable to City Treasurer or credit with convenience fee).

Department of Revenue Fact Sheets

Questions?

For more information or questions pertaining to licensing, please contact the City Clerk's Office at (608) 789-7510.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer